login to your account!

Registration Number : KNR/CA/95/2013

IADVL Kerala Branch

The “Southwestern branch of IADV” comprising of the Kerala State and South Canara District of Karnataka State was formed in January 1971 at the Annual General Body meeting of the parent body, namely IADV {All India} held at Kasturba Medical College, Mangalore. This was the first State Branch formed by a resolution passed by the All India General Body.

The Inauguration of the South-Western Branch was celebrated on 29th May 1971 at Medical College, Trivandrum in the presence of His Excellency V.Viswanathan who was the Governor of Kerala.---

Dr.T.Gopinathan was the Founder-President of the South-Western Branch, {Late} Dr.C.Gangadharan was the Vice President,{Late] Dr.B.K.H.Nair ,the Hon. Gen Secretary,Dr.P.Sugathan as Hon .Jt Secretary and Dr V. Krishnan Nair as Treasurer. In subsequent years the members belonging to the South Canara District of Karnataka joined their parent body, namely, Karnataka-Tamil Nadu[KT]Branch.

Thus, although it was in 1971 that Kerala State branch of IADV became a separate entity. even before 1971 , the Dermatologists and Venereologists of Kerala used to meet at regular intervals in various cities of the state for scientific sessions in an informal way, that is, not under the banner of IADV

Hosting National Conferences:

Since 1974 we have hosted National Conference of IADVL on 3 occasions. Previously IADV used to have combined meeting with API but during the conference of API in Patna in 1974, it was decided to hold separate meetings of IADVL at a venue different from API. Thus in 1975 for the first time we held our National Conference under the banner of IADVL at Trivandrum. The President of IADVL was [late] Dr. C. Sobhanadri ( Andhra Pradesh) and the President- elect was [late] Dr. B. M. Ambady ( Kerala). The late Dr. C. Gangadharan and Dr. B. K. H Nair were the organizing secretary and scientific committee chairman respectively of that memorable conference in Trivandrum..Dr.T.Gopinathan was the Chairman of Souvenir committee

Again we had the opportunity to organize the national conference at Cochin in 1985, This National Conference was organized by Dr. Soman Peter[ Organizing Secretary] and Dr P Ramachandran Nair{Chairman of Org. Committee. In 2002 under the leadership of Dr. Kuriyipe[ Chairman, Org Comm.] we organized the National Conference again in Cochin.Dr.P.V.Mathew was Org.Comm.Secretary and Dr.M.G.Subramaniam was Treasurer